Cabinet shuffle for Trudeau gov’t

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is shaking up his cabinet a bit.

The shuffel today follows the departure of MP Judy Foote, who decided to leave politics for what she calls family reasons. This appears to be one of the reasons for the change, which is one of only a handful since the Liberals took power.

The biggest take away is the splitting of the Indigenous and Norther affairs portfolio between Carolyn Bennet, who oversaw the whole ministry herself, and Jane Philpott.

Both MP’s are high profiled members of Trudeau’s crew.

Bennet will now be the minister for Crown-Indigenous Relations and Norther Affairs while Philpott, who served as health minister, will take on the responsibilities for Indigenous Services.

New Brunswick MP Ginette Petitpas Taylor will take over as health minister. Newfoundland MP Seamus O’Regan is moving from the backbenches to tackle veterans affairs and replaces MP Kent Herk, who is being shuffled into the Sports and Persons with Disabilities portfolio. MP Carla Qualtrough moves to public services and procurement.

The following are the remaining federal cabinet ministers and their current portfolios in the House of Commons:

  • Ralph Goodlate – Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Lawrence MacAulay – Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
  • Scott Brison – President of the Treasury Board
  • Dominic LeBlanc – Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • Navdeep Bains – Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau – Minister of Finance
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould – Minister of Justice Attorney General of Canada
  • Chrystia Freeland – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Jean-Yves Duclos – Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Marc Garneau – Minister of Transport
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau – Minister of International Development and La Francophonie
  • Jim Carr – Minister of Natural Resources
  • Mélanie Joly – Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Diane Lebouthillier – Minister of National Revenue
  • Catherine McKenna – Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • Harjit S. Sajjan – Minister of National Defence
  • Amarjeet Sohi – Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Maryam Monsef – Minister of Status of Women
  • Kirsty Duncan – Minister of Science
  • Patty Hajdu – Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour
  • Bardish Chagger – Minister of Small Business and Tourism Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • François-Philippe Champagne – Minister of International Trade
  • Karina Gould – Minister of Democratic Institutions
  • Ahmed Hussen – Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s